Dr Anne-Maree Farrell

Dr Anne-Maree Farrell is Professor and Chair of Health Law and Society, and Director of the Centre for Health Law and Society at La Trobe University. Professor Farrell’s research expertise lies generally in health law, policy and ethics. She currently holds an ARC Future Fellowship, which involves examining the regulation of human tissue. Professor Farrell has published widely in a range of internationally recognised journals and edited collections. Recent books include Health Law: Frameworks and Context (Cambridge University Press 2017), with J Devereux, I Karpin & P Weller; Pioneering Healthcare Law: Essays in Honour of Margaret Brazier (Routledge 2016), co-edited with C Stanton, S Devaney and A Mullock; European Law and New Health Technologies (Oxford University Press 2013), co-edited with M Flear, T Hervey and T Murphy; and The Politics of Blood: Ethics Innovation and the Regulation of Risk (Cambridge University Press, 2012).

Presentation title: Regulating human tissue in Australia: Principles, institutions and politics

The Kirby Oration is sponsored by The Australian Centre for Health Law Research


About the Association

The Australasian Association of Bioethics and Health Law (AABHL) was formed in 2009.

It encourages open discussion and debate on a range of bioethical issues, providing a place where people can ask difficult questions about ideas and practices associated with health and illness, biomedical research and human values.

The AABHL seeks to foster a distinctive Australasian voice in bioethics, and provide opportunities for international engagement through its membership, journal and conferences.

Members come from all the contributing humanities, social science and science disciplines that make up contemporary bioethics.

Many members have cross-disciplinary interests and all seek to broaden the dialogues in which all members of the wider community ultimately have an interest.

The AABHL is a supportive, creative and challenging community that provides a rich source of continuing academic refreshment and renewal.

Conference Managers

Please contact the team at Conference Design with any questions regarding the conference.

Photo Credits: Tourism Tasmania, Sean Fennessy, Luke Tscharke, Jess Bonde, Richard Strong, Jason Charles Hill,

© 2015 - 2016 Conference Design Pty Ltd